My One Night Stand with 3 Dresses in LA

After 2 months of really hard work and no play, my best friend and I decided to meet in LA for the weekend.  We were due for some fun in lala land in order to take our minds off of work, so I flew down from SF and my best friend flew west from NY.

As soon as the ticket was booked the very first question that came to mind was of course; what will I wear?

Packing for a trip like this would be a monumental task as you‘d want to look fabulous given all the hottest spots we were going to and the celebrities we were going to hang out with but I decided to try something new this time. Something I had never done before.

Instead of packing 10 dresses, 5 pairs of shorts, 4 pairs of jeans, multiple shirts, 6 pairs of shoes, 4 purses and endless jewelry pieces….you get the point, I decided that I wanted to make my life simple.  Really simple.   Because let’s face it, we all know that half the stuff we girls pack for a trip never gets to venture outside of the suitcase.

As a replacement for going through all that packing headache and deciding which items were worthy of LA, I rented 3 stunning dresses from 3 stylish women in SF through Stylend.co which is an app that allows women to monetize their dresses sitting in their closet by renting them out to other women in their city for a tenth of the retail price.

Not only did I not have to worry about what to pack for the trip but my luggage was 3 times smaller than usual and on top of that I did not have the usual dilemma before heading out which of the 10 dresses I had packed I should wear that night. This time I only had 3 to choose from, so it made the decision simple.  Assign a dress to the first night and go from there.  All three were new to me so I was equally excited to wear any of them.

With only $195 total, I wore 3 designer dresses that would have otherwise cost me $2000 if I had purchased them and the irony of it is that I would have worn them only once and then they would sit and collect dust in my closet.  For some reason wearing a dress a second or third time does not excite me as much as wearing it for the first time.  There is something about the one night stand that is so exciting.

Needless to say this experiment turned a success.  I had multiple stylish LA boys and girls coming up to me saying that they loved my dress each night and in turn that made me feel great because who does not like a compliment.

The best part of all of this was that at the end of the weekend I went back home put the dress back in the same packaging the girls had handed to me and gave it back to them. No need to dry clean, ship or worry about finding space in my closet for yet another dress I only wore once…….

DSquared

DSquared

Alexander Wang

Alexander Wang

ALLSAINTSALLSAINTS

DSquared

DSquared

ALLSAINTS

ALLSAINTS

Alexander Wang

Alexander Wang

Leave a comment